Through thoughtful design, public engagement, and education, the Mid City Studio works with a variety of non-profit, governmental, religious, and business partners throughout the Mid City region in Baton Rouge, LA to address complex urban challenges and build community. The studio's work takes root in the realms of architecture, public art, and graphic design, but collaboration and engagement with a broad cross-section of disciplines are critical to the success of each project. Most importantly, the work is committed to communities – especially those consistently under-served by the design disciplines – and aims to foster an environment of participation and inclusion as much as possible. 

About the Studio

Mid City Studio began in 2012 as an informal partnership between the LSU School of Architecture and the Mid City Redevelopment Alliance that focused on serving the local community while creating engaged, educational opportunities for LSU students. Today, the studio continues to partner with both organizations on specific projects to further this mission, while also pursuing independent community-oriented design work with other local partners.