Established in 2012, the Mid City Studio is a community-centered design studio based in the Mid City area of Baton Rouge, LA. The studio aims to affect the viability of surrounding communities through thoughtful design, public engagement and collaboration. The studio aligns with a variety of non-profits, government agencies, churches and businesses to define and develop relevant, responsive art and architectural projects in Mid City that address real needs. The studio pursues projects that provide an opportunity for communities to envision their own future while fostering excellence in design and education. Most of the studio's work is supported in part by the Louisiana State University School of Architecture undergraduate curriculum as well as the Mid City Redevelopment Alliance - a non-profit, community organization also based in Baton Rouge. Student projects are run each fall while other larger and smaller-scale research and design work occurs throughout the year. 

Studio Director Past and Present Community Partners
William J. Doran, Assoc. AIA

Letterman's Blue Print
The Walls Project
The Mid City Redevelopment Alliance
The East Baton Rouge Redevelopment Authority
The Society of St. Vincent de Paul
Garden District Nursery

2014 Student Participants
Tan Nguyen
Kason Derks
Dasjon Jordan
Rachel Lagrange
Zoe Ganch
Aimee Richard
George Frangie
Matthew Kenney
Alex M Sorapuru
Nicholas Lauve
Jeremy Nesbit
Jacob Cotton

2013 Student Particpants
Zach Chatelain
Emily Reckenbeil
Ephraim Franklin
Patrick Capella
Carolina Rodriguez
Jasmine Ross
D'Nae Capron
Nathaniel Frank
Carl Lowder
Phuong Le
James Coate
Cole Rhodes
Darrius Coleman
Kevin Kraemer
Andrew Layman
Steven Armstrong
Terin Barrios
Tess Baudry
Meghan Bilski
Chirag Panchal
Joshua White
Jeanette Feinberg
Marcelle Carmouche
Teresa Williams
Austin Sandel
Eva Rodriguez
Mei Ling Chen
Whitley Calloway
Ryan Zeringue
Susana Constenla
Monica Perez
Bryan Raymond
James Joyner
Chris Doiron
Kyron Thompson
Harrison Daigle
Kyle Hymel
Christine Nguyen
Phung Tran
Byron Raymond
LaKeisha Starks
Tyler Detiveaux
Annette Couvillon
Kathryn Seal
Cody Drago
Kyle Treloar

2012 Student Participants
Lindsay Boley
Matt Harris
Kyle Bennett
Kyle Daroca
Daniel Shaffer
Ryan Johnson
Rongrong Chen
Johnny Johnson
Chelsea Karasoulis
Robin Day
Ashley Webre
Colleen Shannon
Andrew Pharis
Kaitlyn Kehoe
Angela Palmer
Elliot Manuel
Ashley Fetzer
Brendan Boudreau